Poem: Pain in the Neck

Ashok Subramanian
1 min readApr 15, 2024

Ayn Rand — I will remember you. Remind me not to read Fountainhead on Sunday afternoons, immediately after a heavy meal. I ended up in an awkward posture, and then I had a pain in the neck. Then, almost the next day, I became one.

Poem: PAIN IN THE NECK

A hot pack or ice bath

Hobson’s choice for an awkward problem

A sprain in the neck aches -

A rumbling pain in stillness

And a roaring one when twisted.

Blowing hot and cold over the weekend

The dumbbells and presses have to wait

But…why a pain in the neck

Figure me out, said Fountainhead

A few pages on, I figured out sleep.

An awkward posture in an awesome journey.

But…am I a pain in the neck

Maybe, talk to me, you will know

Someday, you will decide not to fall for it

I will cease to be the pain the neck

Now, I have one myself though –

Sticking the icebath and hot pack

Someday, I will sleep straight and speak less.

The pain in the neck should vanish.

~Ashok Subramanian © 2024

--

--

Ashok Subramanian

A poetic mind. Imagines characters, plots. Loves Philosophy, Literature and Science. Poetry-Short Stories-Novels- Poetry Reviews-Book Reviews