Poem: Our Little Secret

Ashok Subramanian
2 min readFeb 18, 2023

--

I wrote this poem, as I got this flash of an unknown feeling. It could be either a divine experience or a fleeting romance. It is a little secret that I won’t tell you though.

Poem: Our Little Secret

I close my eyes
Thinking about you
It feels so good
And so blissful
But I am not
Going to tell you
How good I feel
Because it’s our little secret
It’s a beautiful bliss
I just don’t want to lose
Locked behind my eyelids
Feeling it in my bones
Savoring it in my breath
And music in my heartbeat
So let it just be
This feeling of bliss
When I close my eyes
Thinking of you

~Ashok Subramanian © 2023

Priya, the Prolific responded within a heartbeat. Here is her response.

I can hear you in the wind
like the sound of rustling leaves
as they laugh within the breeze
but I won’t tell you that
I’ll keep it a secret
between me and the rustling leaves

I can feel you in the bed beside me
like the warmth of a blanket
wrapped tightly around me
but you couldn’t possibly know that
it’s a secret between me and my blanket

I wonder if you can still smell my perfume
like the beautiful roses you gifted me
that gave my office the scent of a garden
but I would never know if you did
because we have become lost in time

I miss the sound of your laughter
and the warmth of your arms
I miss the way you breathed me in
but I won’t tell you
It’s a secret between me and my heart.

~ Priya Patel

I responded to her poem, with a point by point reply.

Don’t you know that-
-I know your little secret, Miss.
For I have walked along with you
In the colorful autumn
I have seen their colors
In your honey dew eyes.

-I know your little secret, Miss
For I have snuggled in with you
Into the same warm blanket
As we hugged and cuddled
I saw you close in your eyes
Holding in that moment of warmth.

-I know your little secret, Miss
For you send those red roses
To my desk of plain white
Adding life to our love
Your subtle hint of Valentine.

-I know your little secret, Miss
For I miss your warmth
And your giggly laughter
Like the sound of the bubbly spring
For all your secrets are also mine.

~Ashok Subramanian

The good news is that ‘all her secrets are also mine.’

~Ashok Subramanian

--

--

Ashok Subramanian

A poetic mind. Imagines characters, plots. Loves Philosophy, Literature and Science. Poetry-Short Stories-Novels- Poetry Reviews-Book Reviews