Poem: A Goddess Walking

Ashok Subramanian
2 min readJul 13, 2022

Just take a look at this picture, before reading the poem.

Who cannot be mesmerized by this artwork? I lost myself for a moment and composed these verses that capture the moment. If divinity and royalty were to combine, the visuals cannot be digested by the eyes of the common human, such as me. Still, I am in awe and love.

Artwork © Sarah Polyakov

The mere sight

Of the GODDESS WALKING

slowly towards me

In all regal splendor

The universe of my dreams

Crystallized in her form.

Shall I start with

Her golden curls

A slow-falling cascade

Its twists and twirls

The mere sight of which

Makes me the ‘heartfelt rich’.

Like the moon lost in the clouds

Beyond the golden twirls

In glowing splendor

Like a divine oeuvre

Hiding yet revealing

A palette of emotions.

Those sparkling eyes

Deep like oceans

Entrapping my image and soul

So deep within

A journey that had started

When her glance fell on me.

As she breathes

Even the air is blessed

Passing through her nostrils.

No sight more beautiful

Than those high-boned cheeks

Slightly holding the curving smile.

Those half open, rose lips

Like the budding blooms

Of a forever spring.

Magical yet delicate hips

Sway like the mild breeze

Of the heavenly meadows.

The perfect folds and drapes

A regal attire adorns

With splendid necklace and braids.

When her feet touch the ground

My poor heart races abound

And flies high in the heavenly clouds.

A stunning insight

Seen through my mind’s eyes

The answer to all my questions:

The reason I was born

The reason that I breathe

The reason I have eyes

Just a moment of her divinity

Is a sight that fills eternity

Even time has lost its senses.

A poet short of words

His soul now liberated

Still living in bliss

Settled in paradise by

The mere sight

Of the GODDESS WALKING.

~Ashok Subramanian © 2022

--

--

Ashok Subramanian

A poetic mind. Imagines characters, plots. Loves Philosophy, Literature and Science. Poetry-Short Stories-Novels- Poetry Reviews-Book Reviews